Newsletter

18 Apr VIENNA ACTIONISM

New Presentation of the Collection Holdings

The SAMMLUNG FRIEDRICHSHOF currently owns the most extensive private collection of works by Vienna Actionism artists from the 1960s and early 1970s. In addition it manages, communicates and publishes the complete works of Otto Muehl, also undertaking a reactivation of its collection activities.

The collection was compiled under Theo Altenberg in the 1980s by the Aktions-Analytische Kommune (Action Analytical Commune) of Otto Muehl and introduced to a cooperative after the end of the Commune in 1990. Despite initial economic difficulties, the collection was stabilised in collaboration with its director, Dr Hubert Klocker.

Since 2010, when the rooms at Friedrichshof were redesigned by architect Adolf Krischanitz,  international artist works by Paul McCarthy, Ion Grigorescu, Alexander Brener / Barbara Schurz, Alan Kaprow, Marcel Odenbach, Denisa Lehocká, Carolee Schneemann, Rita Ackermann, Samuel Schaab and Bjarne Melgaard have been put in dialog with the initial collection presentation.  Catalogues were published for all exhibitions by the publishing house Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Cologne, and respectively, by the est. 2014 Viennese publisher Schlebrügge. Through such consistent programming as well as private funding the SAMMLUNG FRIEDRICHSHOF has been able to establish itself on the international map of Contemporary Art in Austria.

After five years and at the event marking the opening of the Annual Exhibition 2016 with works by Japanese photographer and performance artist Yasumasa Morimura, we are modifying the presentation of the permanent collection, showing other works from the archives and placing an emphasis on the works of the Vienna Actionism artists with film and video. We are also extending the period of the works up until the present.

In the context of the Morimura works we are also emphasising a selection of works from the thematic complex Persönlichkeiten (Personalities) by Otto Muehl.

Photo © SAMMLUNG FRIEDRICHSHOF 2016

Download   Press Release

For more information and high-res images please contact
Michaela Seiser

newsletter

18 Apr WIENER AKTIONISMUS

Neupräsentation der Sammlungsbestände

Die SAMMLUNG FRIEDRICHSHOF besitzt gegenwärtig die umfangreichste private Sammlung von Arbeiten der Wiener Aktionisten aus den 1960er und frühen 1970er Jahren. Darüber hinaus verwaltet, vermittelt und publiziert sie das Gesamtwerk Otto Muehls und unternimmt eine Reaktivierung ihrer Sammlungstätigkeit.

Die Sammlung wurde unter der Leitung von Theo Altenberg in den 1980er Jahren von der Aktions-Analytischen Kommune Otto Muehls zusammengetragen und nach dem Ende der Kommune im Jahr 1990 in eine Genossenschaft eingebracht. Trotz anfänglicher ökonomischer Schwierigkeiten konnte die Sammlung in Zusammenarbeit mit ihrem Direktor Dr. Hubert Klocker stabilisiert werden.

Seit der 2010 unternommenen Neugestaltung der Räume am Friedrichshof durch Architekt Adolf Krischanitz wurden im Dialog mit der ersten Sammlungspräsentation  Ausstellungen von Paul McCarthy, Ion Grigorescu, Alexander Brener/Barbara Schurz, Alan Kaprow, Marcel Rodenbach, Denisa Lehocká, Carolee Schneemann, Rita Ackermann, Samuel Schaab und Bjarne Melgaard realisiert. Zu allen Ausstellungen wurden  Publikationen im Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König / Köln bzw. seit 2014 dem Wiener Schlebrügge Verlag herausgegeben. Mit dieser konsequenten Programmatik hat sich die SAMMLUNG FRIEDRICHSHOF mit privaten Mitteln auf der auch international sichtbaren Landkarte österreichischer Kulturinitiativen für zeitgenössische Kunst etabliert.

Nach fünf Jahren und anlässlich der Eröffnung der Jahresausstellung 2016 mit Werken des japanischen Foto- und Performancekünstlers  Yasumasa Morimura modifizieren wir die Präsentation der ständigen Sammlung, zeigen andere Werke aus den Beständen, legen einen Schwerpunkt auf die Arbeit der Aktionisten mit Film und Video und erweitern den Zeitraum der gezeigten Arbeiten bis in die Gegenwart.

Im Kontext mit den Werken Morimuras legen wir außerdem Gewicht auf eine Auswahl von Arbeiten aus dem thematischen Komplex Persönlichkeiten von Otto Muehl.

Photo © SAMMLUNG FRIEDRICHSHOF 2016

Download  Pressematerial

Für Presseinformationen und hochauflösendes Bildmaterial kontaktieren Sie bitte
Michaela Seiser