Newsletter

Project 6: HÜSEYIN IŞIK

12 Nov Project 6: HÜSEYIN IŞIK

LIVE BROADCAST FROM MY COFFIN
7.12.2018-22.02.2019

»There, where prehistoric dogs once barked« C. Süreya

Soon I will embark on a long journey and not return. We have destroyed everything; I cannot even recognise the clouds. With the change in my pocket, I shall pay the price for being snatched from nature.

Even this century has been marked by war, genocide and other human tragedies. All of humanity has been shaped by a manipulated historiography, resulting in a distorted collective consciousness. The tyrants are unfortunately victorious once again. At least up until now, and the foreseeable future promises little hope for a better world.

It was the day on which books and people were burned and humanity was left without a father. When the registered passengers of a ship sank to their deaths, the poor raven never once forgot all these things. The dogs barked that day and the zeitgeist was soaked by a rain of tears.

Time is running out, the water has long since risen and the earth upon which you once set your foot with such confidence is now nothing but a deep swamp.

While I let the rats scratch at my itching foot from within my coffin, I am welcomed into the ground where identity, belonging and ownership have no meaning.

Hüseyin Işık

 

Live broadcast from my coffin

The room installation consists of large-scale drawings and about 10,000 partially coloured duplicates. The drawings are mounted on the wall (wallpapered) and the duplicates lie on the floor like so many weightless leaves in autumn.

Shown is the chaotic state of the world today from the perspective of a rat who lives in a coffin, and who transmits the view captured by its revolving eyes to us, live.

Special guest:

The photographer, Merih Akoğul observes the installation “with different eyes”, showing us his perspective. His photographs are projected on to the wall.

 

 

© Hüseyin Isik, Images: Merih Akoğul

newsletter

Project 6: HÜSEYIN IŞIK

12 Nov Project 6: HÜSEYIN IŞIK

Livesendung aus meinem Sarg

07.12.2018–22.02.2019

»Dort bellten prähistorische Hunde« C. Süreya

Bald werde ich mich auf eine lange Reise ohne Wiederkehr machen, wir haben alles vernichtet, ich kann nicht einmal die Wolken wiedererkennen. Mit dem Kleinblut in meiner Tasche werde ich die Strafe dafür zahlen, dass ich der Natur entrissen wurde.

Auch dieses Jahrhundert ist gekennzeichnet durch Krieg, Völkermord und andere menschliche Tragödien. Die ganze Menschheit ist von einer manipulierten Geschichtsschreibung geprägt, die ein verzerrtes, kollektives Bewusstsein zur Folge hat. Die Tyrannen sind leider wieder Sieger. Zumindest bis jetzt. Und die absehbare Zukunft verheißt kaum Hoffnung auf eine bessere Welt.

Es war jener Tag, an dem Bücher und Menschen verbrannt wurden und die Menschheit ohne Vater blieb. Als die aufgelisteten Passagiere eines Schiffes in den Tod aufbrachen, vergaß der arme Rabe dies alles nie. Die Hunde bellten auch an jenem Tag. Und der Zeitgeist war durchnässt vom Regen der Tränenwolken.

Die Zeit wird knapp, das Wasser ist schon längst gestiegen, die Erde, auf die du den Fuß voller Zuversicht gesetzt hattest, ist jetzt ein tiefer Sumpf.

Während ich in meinem Sarg die Ratten an meinem juckenden Fuß kratzen lasse, heiße ich mich Willkommen auf dem Boden, wo Identität, Zugehörigkeit und Besitz nichts mehr bedeuten.

Hüseyin Işık

 

Livesendung aus meinem Sarg

Die Rauminstallation besteht aus großformatigen Zeichnungen und ca. 10.000, teilweise kolorierten, Duplikaten. Die Zeichnungen sind an der Wand angebracht (tapeziert), die Duplikate liegen am Boden wie schwerelose Blätter im Herbst.

Gezeigt wird der heutige chaotische Zustand der Welt aus der Sicht einer Ratte, die in einem Sarg lebt und den Blick ihrer kreisenden Augen live an uns weiterleitet.

Spezieller Gast:

Der Fotograf Merih Akoğul wird die Installation “mit anderen Augen” betrachten und uns seine Sicht vermitteln. Seine Fotos werden an die Wand projiziert.