Newsletter

13 Oct PROJECT 2: AHU DURAL

SHE SEES NOTHING
23.11.2016 – 16.02.2017

Ahu Dural (*1984, Berlin) transforms the city space STADTRAUM of the SAMMLUNG FRIEDRICHSHOF in her exhibition She Sees Nothing into a space-consuming installation. The starting point is the continuation of a quotation by Beatriz Colomina of a text fragment, which is also the title of the exhibition. “Remarkably, she is facing the wall. She is almost an attachment to the wall. She sees nothing”. Among other things, Colomina notes at this point how Le Corbusier has almost exclusively portrayed women whose faces are not recognized or which look towards the wall. She describes a photograph in which Charlotte Perriand herself poses, lying on one of her chaiselongues, her face facing the wall is not looking at the camera.

New feminist genealogies and art history re-contextualisations are used in the works of She Sees Nothing. In this source of inspiration the artist finds reflection in the works of the architects Eileen Gray, Charlotte Perriand and Jeanette Laverrière, as well as an artistic way of working, which can be experienced on both a sensual and haptic level. The parameters of the artist’s method and employment points become clear very quickly: space – actors – drawing.

In the works of Dural the perception of space in the exhibition concept, as well as drawing as a necessity of productive activity, plays an important role. Just as she summons space from paper to the actual exhibition space, her presentation works change the state from a two-dimensional drawing to an object front, just as vice versa, objects in the room can operate as a graphic for the artist. In the process of working on material, on paper, in the form of repeated processing of work patterns, the artist creates a drawing front and, in the sense of the concept, hybrid objects that are enrolled in the architecture.

At the same time, both the user and viewer’s participation is activated by looking at the installation and objects from different segments of the room. Positioning and perspective as an element of artistic work, however, also mean the autonomous and self-determined re-writing of this viewer position, which was shaped and determined in 1960s Minimalism. One can think of an active audience who sees sculpture that implicates them, becomes generative and opens the mind. The exploration of space and movement thereof around the objects open up the viewer’s interplay created by Dural by the inscription in the gallery space. The single drawing transformed through distance to an object front on the wall, the step into the space explains the streak in the mass of drawings in the form of the legs of the high table objects. Specific objects, which intersect between the object and the painterly moment, emerge in the process. In the White Cube, objects of the Perriand 50s interiors are stretched in length, pulled up and reduced to the moment of vision.The moment of non-seeing in She Sees Nothing, the too-high tables or benches, the too-high atelier, an interior ensemble with too-high objects, the spatial architecture and position of the objects focus the view repeatedly towards the height. The movement in the space encourages the viewer to pose the question of perceptibility: What is the relationship between the strokes and the visual axes, what appears in the field of view, and what associations are there?

Ahu Dural was showing objects and drawings in the STADTRAUM and presented an artist lecture on her work in February 2017.

Curator Marie Oucherif

Photos © Maximilian Anelli-Monti

newsletter

13 Okt PROJECT 2: AHU DURAL

SHE SEES NOTHING
23.11.2016 – 16.02.2017

Ahu Dural (*1984, Berlin) verwandelt in ihrer Ausstellung She Sees Nothing den STADTRAUM der SAMMLUNG FRIEDRICHSHOF in eine raumgreifende Installation. Ausgangspunkt ist die Fortsetzung des von der Künstlerin aus ihrer Diplompräsentation aufgegriffenen Zitats eines Textfragments von Beatriz Colomina, das gleichzeitig auch den Titel der Ausstellung darstellt.
„Remarkably, she is facing the wall. She is almost an attachment to the wall. She sees nothing“. Unter anderem stellt Colomina an dieser Stelle fest, wie Le Corbusier fast ausschließlich Frauen im Bild portraitiert hat, deren Gesichter man nicht erkennt oder die in Richtung der Wand blicken. Sie beschreibt ein Foto, auf dem Charlotte Perriand selbst auf einer ihrer Chaiselongues posiert und liegend, ihr Gesicht zur Wand gerichtet nicht in die Kamera schaut.

Neue feministische Genealogien und kunstgeschichtliche Re-Kontextualisierungen kommen bei den Arbeiten in She Sees Nothing zum Tragen. In dieser Inspirationsquelle findet die Künstlerin Reflexion in Werken der Architektinnen und Designerinnen Eileen Gray, Charlotte Perriand und Jeanette Laverrière, sowie einer künstlerischen Arbeitsweise, die sich auf sinnlicher und haptischer Ebene erfahrbar macht. Die Parameter der Methode und Beschäftigungspunkte der Künstlerin werden dabei sehr schnell klar: Raum – Akteurinnen – Zeichnung.

In den Arbeiten Durals spielt Raumwahrnehmung in der Ausstellungskonzeption, sowie das Zeichnen als Notwendigkeit produktiven Tuns eine große Rolle. So wie sie den Raum vom Papier auf den eigentlichen Ausstellungsraum holt, wechseln ihre Arbeiten in der Präsentation den Zustand von zweidimensionaler Zeichnung zu Objektfront, so wie auch umgekehrt Objekte im Raum für die Künstlerin als Grafik funktionieren können. Im Mechanismus des Abarbeitens an Material, an Papier, in Form wiederholter Bearbeitung von Arbeitsmustern kreiert die Künstlerin eine Zeichnungsfront und im Sinne der Konzeption hybridhafte Objekte, die sich in die Architektur einschreiben.

Dabei wird die Benutzer- und Betrachterpartizipation durch das Schauen von mehreren Raumausschnitten aktiviert. Positionierung und Perspektive als Element der künstlerischen Arbeit bedeuten aber ebenso die autonome und selbstbestimmte Neuzuschreibung dieser Betrachterposition, die vor allem in den 60er Jahren im Minimalismus geprägt und bestimmt wurde. Man kann an ein aktives Publikum denken, das Skulptur sieht, die sie impliziert, generativ wird und den Geist öffnet. Die Erforschung des Raums und die Bewegung in diesem um die Objekte herum eröffnen für den Betrachter das Wechselspiel, das Dural durch die Einschreibung in den Galerieraum schafft. Die einzelne Zeichnung transformiert durch Distanz zu einer Objektfront an der Wand, der Schritt in den Raum erläutert den Strich in der Masse an Zeichnungen in der Form der Beine der zu hohen Tischobjekte. Spezifische Objekte, die zwischen Objekt und dem malerischen Moment changieren, treten dabei zum Vorschein. Im White Cube anmutenden Raum werden Objekte des 50er Jahre Interieurs Perriands in der Länge gedehnt, in die Höhe gezogen und auf das Moment des Sehens reduziert. Das Moment des Nicht-Sehens in She Sees Nothing, die zu hohen Tischböcke oder Bänke, das zu hohe Atelier, ein Interieurensemble mit zu hohen Gegenständen, die Raumarchitektur und Position der Objekte leiten den Blick immer wieder in die Höhe. Die Bewegung im Raum überlässt es dem Betrachter selbst, sich die Frage nach der Wahrnehmbarkeit zu stellen: In welchem Verhältnis stehen die Striche und Sichtachsen zu einander, was befindet sich alles im Sichtfeld und welche Assoziationen ergeben sich daraus?

Ahu Dural zeigte im STADTRAUM Objekte und Zeichnungen und gab zur Finissage im Februar 2017 eine artist lecture zu ihren Arbeiten.

Kuratorin Marie Oucherif

Photos © Maximilian Anelli-Monti