Newsletter

08 May ION GRIGORESCU

Horse / Men Market
08.05.–25.09.2011

Grigorescu occupies one of the most important positions in Romanian art of recent decades. Art historian and curator Magda Radu calls him an artist “who retained moral integrity during the darkest period in Romanian history under Ceausescu and the turbulent years after the revolution of 1989 and whose work above all reveals an ethical attitude and a notable continuity.” Like Kabakov, Monastyrskij, Knizak, or the Serbian artist Todosijevic, this artist, born in Bucharest in 1945, is an important artists from the former Eastern Bloc whose work was received in the West after the political transformation in 1990 and was able to develop an impact.

Grigorescu is not a political artist who reacted to the extremely repressive communism of the Romanian dictator with activist protest. Instead, he refused all contact with officially recognized art of his country. He lived underground, and in his body actions, which continue today and are documented in film and photography, the artist responded to the dominant dynamics of repression in his direct surroundings, even after the Romanian revolution and the collapse of the Ceausescu system.

With this work, he is an authentic chronicler of a society marked by collapse and decay. The visual language developed in his art—in Grigorescu’s film documentation there is no start and no end, no narrative process—he communicates a state of subjectivist alienation. In so doing, the film camera is an attentive and distanced companion on the artist’s walks, and arrests a desolate reality with a peripheral and yet disturbing gaze.

The work Horse / Men Market shown at SAMMLUNG FRIEDRICHSHOF communicates this content in the form of a multi-media installation.

Ion Grigorescu will represent Romania at the upcoming 54th Biennale di Venezia.

Photos © Ion Grigorescu, Sammlung Friedrichshof

newsletter

08 Mai ION GRIGORESCU

Horse / Men Market
08.05.–25.09.2011

Grigorescu besetzt eine der bedeutendsten Positionen in der rumänischen Kunst der letzten Jahrzehnte. Die Kunsthistorikerin und Kuratorin Magda Radu bezeichnet ihn als einen Künstler, „der seine moralische Integrität während der dunkelsten Periode Rumäniens unter Ceausescu und der turbulenten Folgezeit nach der Revolution von 1989 bewahren konnte und dessen Schaffen und vor allem auch ethische Haltung eine bemerkenswerte Kontinuität aufweist.“ Der 1945 in Bukarest geborene Künstler gehört somit zu jenen großen Künstlerpersönlichkeiten aus dem ehemaligen Ostblock, dessen Werk, wie jenes von Kabakov, Monastyrskij, Knizak oder dem Serben Todosijevic nach den politischen Umwälzung um 1990 auch im Westen wahrgenommen wurde und Wirkung entfalten konnte.

Grigorescu ist kein politischer Künstler der auf den extrem repressiven Kommunismus des rumänischen Diktators durch aktivistischen Protest reagierte. Vielmehr hatte er sich konsequent jeder Annäherung an die offiziell anerkannte Kunst seines Landes verweigert. Er lebte im Untergrund und reflektiert bis heute in seinen mittels Film und Fotografie dokumentierten Körperaktionen die auch nach der rumänischen Revolution und dem Zusammenbruch des Ceausescu-Systems vorherrschende Unterdrückungsdynamik seiner unmittelbaren Lebensrealität.

Mit seinem Werk ist er authentischer Chronist einer von Zusammenbruch und Zerfall gezeichneten Gesellschaft. Die in seiner Kunst entwickelte Bildsprache – in den Filmdokumenten Grigorescus gibt es keinen Anfang und kein Ende, keine narrativen Abläufe – vermittelt den Zustand einer subjektivistischen Entfremdung. Die Filmkamera ist dabei eine aufmerksame und distanzierte Begleiterin auf den Spaziergängen des Künstlers und hält, mit peripherem, gleichwohl aufwühlendem Blick eine zerrüttete Wirklichkeit fest.

Die in der SAMMLUNG FRIEDRICHSHOF gezeigte Arbeit mit dem Titel Horse / Men Market vermittelt diese Inhalte in Form einer multimedialen Rauminstallation.

Ion Grigorescu vertritt Rumänien auf der kommenden 54. Biennale di Venecia.

Photos © Ion Grigorescu, Sammlung Friedrichshof